The Good, the Bad, and well you know the rest

06/19/2011

I really don’t feel like blogging right now but I think it’s only fair to post in my lows as well as my highs. Even the most optimistic person is going to have both. So here it is!

I don’t even know if I would call it a low. . but just a lull. I feel like I’m just going through the motions and it’s reflecting on the scale. I’m bored journaling my food. I’m bored taking a 30 minute walk. I’m frustrated with my new work schedule.

I figured I had two options. To push through and force myself to keep going through the motions. Or take a break from counting points and taking my walk. I think pushing through would have led to an uncontrolled breakdown. At least a scheduled break is controlled.

I decided to have a look at my current hurdles and decide how to jump them.

COUNTING POINTS – As I said, I’ve just been going through the motions. Meaning, I’m just staying in my points. It doesn’t work that way! I need to be eating ‘filling foods’. I need to be planning my meals and hitting more spots on the healthy eating guide. (lean dairy, veggies, fruits, whole grains, lean proteins). I need to be drinking more water. I’ve been eating fastfood which takes way too many points and is not filling! Then I am forced to go over my points to feel full. I know when I’m really working the plan I see results. All of my big losses have been a result of really doing the plan.

EXERCISE – There are so many other options to exercising. I can go to the gym, I can go to Zumba, I can go to the bike trail or school track. I just need to get over my fat girl fears and go. Yes, I am still obese. . .but I’m smaller than I was and in better shape than I was. I just need to get out there and try new things.

NEW WORK SCHEDULE – The hours are actually great. It works so well for my family and even gives me more time to exercise. However I end up eating two meals away from home. I need to work out a better meal plan to keep me full when working late. I know it can be done with some effort.

I will say that it feels good to not want to give up. It feels good to be patient with myself and realize that a week off the plan doesn’t mean defeat.

Hopefully, I’ll have some positive posts over the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

