Beany Cheese Cups

06/25/2011

I tried a new recipe this week.  Hungry Girl Beany Cheesy Cups.  Apart from being incredibly simple, they hit on some of my craving notes.  They have nice crunch to them with the fillo cups.  They are finger foods.  They are quick to prepare and quick to bake.  5  little cups for 3 points.  

The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly.  Here are my pointers. . .  1.) Add more seasoning.  I used some taco seasoning the second time and LOVED them.   2.) Use a butter flavored non-stick spray.  The regular pam gives the fillo an odd taste.  3) Serve them with a salad for a meal! 4) Add some heat,  mix some chopped jalapenos into the bean mix.

Another great thing about this recipe is that I tried the fillo cups for the first time.  I can not wait to experiment them.  I’m thinking some chopped turkey pepperoni, 2% cheese, pizza sauce, and my favorite pizza toppings.  I’m going to chop them all up and fill the cups.  I’m also thinking about some desserts!

I was surprised to find the Athen’s Fillo Cups and pleased that they were less than $2 a package.  The laughing cow cheese has several wedges in a package and you can make this recipe 4 times with one package!

Well,  I don’t have much to say today.  I wanted to post something and I wanted to share my recipe experiment before I forgot!

Leave a Reply

