Dear Brain

10/17/2011

Dear Brain,

First let me say that I really appreciate how organized you are with meal planning and making a grocery list.  It makes eating healthy so much easier when I know exactly what I’m having for dinner tonight.  Plus, having all the ingredients on hand prevents a ‘quick trip to the store’  which always includes some unhealthy extras.

We need to talk about these unhealthy extras.  You know that if there is a bag of chips in the cupboard or peanut butter cups in the freezer, there is no way I will pick a nice baked snack or an apple. 

We both know that it’s okay to include those things in the grocery cart on occassion.  Sure there are healthy substitutions for everything, but every now and then it’s nice to have the full fat, full sugar version that we’ve grown to love and have literally GROWN from loving.

You’ve had several weeks of indulging me and now it’s time to buckle down.  The next time we are in the store and I reach for some oreos, just remind me that sugar free pudding is a few aisles over and oh so good.

Feel free to remind me that the healthy versions will consume most of my points and leave me unsatisfied.  I’ll be left standing in the fridge with a rumbly stomach and no points.  My only options will be to stay hungry until the morning (we both know that won’t happen) or to go off plan (that’s more like me) and then I will just chuck the whole week.

It’s just no worth it.  It’s much to hard to resist those things when they are in the house day after day after day! 

Let’s just stick to the list.  Pack it with our favorite veggies and fresh fruit. . .hunt down some new whole grain treats. . sneak in some lean dairy that I loathe. . it will be better for both of us this way. 

I know you like a challenge.  You like switching things up.  So instead of using those unhealthy options to stimulate, let’s look for some new recipes to try.   Even better, let’s think of a food we’ve never tried and add it to the list.

Much love, me

 

Leave a Reply

